Favorite Books Website

While I was in grad school, I was assigned a project for which I had to choose an award winning book published within the last two year to make a book trailer and read-a-like list for. I enjoyed doing this project so much that it grew into a personal thing for me.

For every calendar year, I pick my favorite read and create a book trailer for it (if there isn’t an official one) and make some read-a-like lists. This really forces me to consider the books I am reading each year, and to think about them in different ways when considering their appeal to me and their relationship to each other. It’s also really interesting to see my tastes over a number of years and think about what that means about me as a reader.

I’ve had trouble in the past with picking books and then later realizing that it probably should have been a different book that I chose as the winner. That’s a problem that I am still dealing with. I’ve also had a lot of trouble with having too many amazing books to choose from in one year, but that’s a good problem to have.

Technically, I’m doing this as a resource for other readers, but I’m well aware that it’s not actually used by anyone else. The enjoyment that I get out of it makes up for that.

Anyway, here’s the website: stapletonfaves.weebly.com. Check it out when you get a chance!

Leave a Reply

